Is it possible to be too honest, or is honesty always the best policy?

Well, that’s an interesting question. The fact is: truth hurts, but discovering something was a lie hurts even more, so the lesson is: Always make sure people don’t discover you lied.
Personally, I like the following quote:

Always tell the truth and you will never have to remember anything

If you are not a good liar, just don’t go that way. But I am missing the point here.

Honesty might be your principle, and it’s a good principle. Nevertheless, you should always keep the eye on the ball. Maybe your focus is not hurting people with desnecessary facts, so liying in this case is ok. I am not in position to judge anyone morals, I rather just be pragmatic. One should think what kind of treatment one would want for himself. I prefer that my friends always tell me the truth, no matter what, instead of sugar coating. You need real facts to take right calls, this is way I always want the truth instead of a pleasant lie. People lie to themselves all of the time, we don’t need more lies.

Leave a Reply

